The “Keeping the Lights on” Mentality

Mike Kavis (aka Mad Greek) has done it again and written an excellent blog entry – The "Keeping the Lights on" Mentality. I see this all too often, in a number of accounts that I visit. IT as a cost center, with the focus on "Keeping the Lights on", not as a driver of innovation in the business. 

I was hoping that I saw signs of movement away from this, last year, when I wrote about Empowering IT to enable innovation. My concerns are that any gains that may have been made, over the last year or so, have just been eroded with the recent events surrounding the credit crunch. However, I view it as potentially an opportunity for some organisations to facilitate innovation that allows them to get ahead of their competitors. I wrote more about this issue in this entry Uncertain times – can SaaS based applications be used to get an edge.

Leave a Reply

