Titles with the term Architect in them

I love putting the term Architect in my title. Normally I describe myself as an IT Architect to people in the IT profession, and even to those outside of IT, as they seem to understand it.

But it is an interesting title as even the International Association of Software Architects (IASA) has a a great debate occurring on "What is Architecture?" . I’ve been waiting for some time for an update on this.

Over the last while I’ve found these titles:

  • Enterprise Architect
  • Domain Architect
  • Information Architect
  • Solution Architect
  • Software Architect
  • System Architect

In some discussions that I have had with people, the only consensus that I seem to be able to gleam is that the purpose and responsibilities of the persons fulfilling the roles are different in each organisation. The IT profession in this area, is still evolving as the complexity increases. But in all cases these persons work with areas of abstractions, the granularity and level of that abstraction, is inferred by the prefix of the title.

I in the past had tried to define another being that of a Communications Architect, focused on presentation and collaboration technology.

Have you come across other titles with the term Architect in them? If so what was the title and what was its purpose?

Leave a Reply

