Stilgherrian Live – a sojourn into live Internet broadcasting

I’ve been avoiding writing a blog post that expels the virtues of twitter. And I’m not doing it. What I’m going to do is describe to you my enjoyable experiences last night with Stilgherrian Live.

@stilgherrian is a colour full character that I’ve been following on twitter. He has always got something witty and pertinent to say and is well respected by the Australian twitterati. Every Thursday night he broadcasts over the Internet his show through a service called ustream. Last night was Episode 49 – thats correct its been going for about a year.

What I like about Sligherrian Live is that it is different, maybe even a little strange. But its the effort and thought that Stil puts in to engaging his audience that keeps me coming back to participate week after week. Unlike the Tele, this is interactive broadcasting, which means we who are watching are participating live as well. A lot of my twitter friends jump on, and twitter normally goes a little quieter during air time.

A favourite section of the show is "Cnut of the week" (I believe it is named after the famous polar bear). Stil is looking for people to nominate on his blog before the show, people, organisations or other entities who are futilely trying to hold back the tide of change. It has to be something in the news in the last week, and you have to explain why. In return for nominating, as a nominator you are eligible to then be placed in a draw for a free t-shirt of your choice from King Cnut Ethical Clothing.

I placed my cnut nomination for Episode 49 before the deadline and participated in the entertaining show as per usual.

Now my favourite section started and we all got to vote through an interactive poll on the selected potential "Cnut of the week"s. If you want to find out who actually was "Cnut of the week", you will have to watch the recording online. Then it was time to draw for the prize. Up came Stephen Collins (@trib) on the screen, he had three minutes to respond with the key phrase to collect the prize. He wasn’t watching and missed out. Then came Mal and he wasn’t watching either. To my surprise my name came up. Panic set in , what did I need to do? After going back and reading all the blogs, and not finding the email address, I sent a Direct Message to @stilgherian and an email to king at kingcnut dot com. The former was sufficient, I’d won the prize.

Shortly, I’ll be the proud owner of a King Cnut t-shirt, thanks to Dave and Stil for a job well done here. It was a very enjoyable experience.

If you get a chance, check out Stilgherrian Live, but I warn you it is different!

Leave a comment